Kyoto and Osaka: Another Story in Japan

On my latest post about my trip to Tokyo, I wrote how this country has left me such a great impression and I would definitely visit this country again. I also wrote that for the next trip to Japan, I would visit Kyoto and Osaka for another week because each city has its own great places to explore and it needs days to understand a city.

But, who knows that I would be back to Japan sooner than I expected.

Kyoto & Osaka

I have been wanted to visit Kyoto and Osaka. So, when we finally made to Japan again I was so excited. Kyoto and Osaka is the perfect match between historical and modern examples of urban designs, where the old of the oldest Asian cities meets the modernity of the nations kitchen.

Days in Kyoto

We took the night flight departing from Taipei to Kansai International Airport. We stayed in a nearby guesthouse around Izumi-sano before heading to Kyoto the next day where we started the real trip walking around Kyoto to visit some famous places. In Kyoto, the buses provide a convenient way to get around Kyoto for only 500 yen a day and it is relatively easy to use, than using the subways.

Kyoto Day 1

First place to have the honor is Arashiyama, since it is the furthest from Central Kyoto so better going there early and continue visit other places which much closer from downtown the next day. Arashiyama is the second most important sightseeing district in Kyoto filled with temples and shrines, but the star attraction is the famed Arashiyama Bamboo Groves. Although the bamboo path was quite short, walking through the soaring stalks of bamboo gave me so much feels.

Going to the northern part of Kyoto, we went to Ryoanji Temple and Kinkakuji Temple that close to each other in the same bus direction. Ryoanji is the home of the famous rock garden consists of a rectangular plot of pebbles surrounded by low earthen walls. Personally, rather than the rock garden that gives you a zen contemplation feels, I prefer the spacious park area with pond to enjoy there. I always love parks in Japan, especially in winter season where you could feel the serene.

Not far from Ryoanji, there lies the symbol of Kyoto, Kinkakuji Temple. It has burned down numerous times during history until finally rebuilt and opened in 1955. The beauty lies on its golden reflection shimmering across the rippled surface of the pond. I wish I could spend more time to enjoy the beautiful view of the pond with its captivating golden reflection. It was addicting.

At dawn time, it would be a perfect time to go to Nishiki Market. This place has a pleasant, but busy atmosphere that is inviting to those who want to explore the variety of culinary delights that Kyoto is famous for. Another tip for a place to eat, there is a famous burnt miso ramen restaurant named Kyoto Gogyo, trust me, they have a taste you would not want to miss out.

Kyoto Day 2

The next spot could be my most favorite place in Kyoto. Fushimi Inari Taisha, the important shinto shrine in southern Kyoto famous for thousand of vermillion torii gates straddles a network of trails behind its main buildings. The trails lead into the wooded forest of the sacred Mount Inari. Many fox statues across the shrine ground since they are thought to be the messengers of Inari. The hike to the summit of the mountain and back takes about 2-3 hours, but we are free to walk just as far as we want before turning back. Walking through a row of gates lined up along the path was tiring, but enthralling.

I visited Kiyomizudera Temple, one of the most famous temples in Japan, just few minutes by bus from Fushimi Inari Taisha. It was founded in 780 on the site of Otowa Waterfall in the wooded hills east of Kyoto and added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1994. It is best known for its wooden stage that gave us such a nice view of Kyoto city center from afar. It was raining in the late afternoon when we went there but somehow the drizzles added a romantic feels around the temple area.

From the temple, walk downhill and there would be a pair of gently sloping lanes lined with beautifully restored traditional shop houses. The pair of pedestrian-only lanes named Sannen-zaka and Ninen-zaka makes such an old Japan atmosphere to stroll even under the rains. Keep walking and you would end up in Gion where you could get a glimpse of geisha in their zori sandals and exquisite kimono. Lots of tourist include me, were quite happy to see and catch one or two photos of them while they were walking and probably feeling annoyed. Ha.

And it marked our last day in Kyoto before heading to Osaka tomorrow morning. I guess two days are too short to experience the whole old Japan feels that Kyoto gives with its massive amount of shrines and temples. For a fan of heritages, it is indeed exquisite.

Days in Osaka

I started the day in Osaka with a little accident. Darn. Somehow I feel like that accident was a dejavu with my losing phone accident in Tokyo. So you know that compared to Tokyo and Kyoto, Osaka has this amazing pass for tourists to experience lot of attractions inside the city, subways, buses, and new trams for free only in 2300 yen for one day and 3000 yen for two days. It sounds awesome, isn’t it? Then I lost it in our way when we were walking and I was feeling devastated that time. But the good thing of being in Japan is you would eventually find it anyway if you follow the path of your footprints since no one would take it.

Osaka Day 1

So after that little accident, I finally enjoyed my Osaka city tour started with cruising with Santa Maria Cruise in Osaka Bay Area. It is a sightseeing ship cruising the Osaka Bay and a replica built to be twice the size and modeled after the ship on which Columbus journeyed to the Atlantic Ocean. The expansive seascape from the ship gave my happy mood back. Immediately after the cruise, I tried the Tempozan Ferris Wheel still in the area. It is the biggest and the highest ferris wheel in Japan. From high up in the air you can enjoy a panoramic view of the sea, the mountains, and the entire city of Osaka. I undoubtedly love this, no wonder it is famous as a date spot. The view was amusingly breathtaking.

Since it was a valentines day, I tried the good romantic spots to enjoy the rest of the day. Back to the city center, there is another ferris wheel much smaller in a shopping center area named HEP to try. But it would not disappoint you to give such a beautiful night view of the cityscape, except the long queues. And the night ended perfectly with a panoramic night view of the city lights from the Floating Garden Observatory of the famous Umeda Sky Building. The observatory is a bridge connecting the two towers of the Umeda Sky Building, whose roof features a doughnut shape that provides an unobstructed 360degree view.

Osaka Day 2

Osaka is a modern city but you could still find some heritages around. Osaka Castle is the famous landmark built in 1583. The castle tower is surrounded by secondary citadels, gates, turrets, impressive stonewalls and moats. The entire Osaka Castle Park covers about two square kilometers with lots of green space which was much more interesting for me because I was able to see the plum blossoms since it was winter. From the tower of Osaka Castle you could see such a breathtaking view of the cityscape.

Just a quite short walk from the castle, there will be a pier to take another sightseeing cruise. Yes, I think we did a lot of cruising in Osaka. Osaka Seijo Aqua Liner is a long and flat boat rises only 1.6 meters from the surface of the water so that it can pass under bridges. The cruise lasts for an hour and runs every day, but unlike the Santa Maria, this one actually was quite boring. I suggest to not take it more than 30 minutes or you would end up sleeping like me.

Another spot on my list is the famous Dotonbori, a district area popular with nightlife, entertainment area characterized by its eccentric atmosphere and large illuminated signboards, and food! It was a perfect place to find lunch and dinner respectively where you could find the best Okonomiyaki and Takoyaki in the entire Japan. The perfect thing to end our visit to this district area was trying another sightseeing cruise along Dotonburi River to experience the area from a different angle for 20 minutes. This cruise was much better than the Aqua Liner one, since the tour was spoken by a Rakugo comedian who was very funny, we were laughing along with his jokes.

At night, I visited Tsutenkaku Tower to experience this other known landmark of Osaka. The main observation deck is not as high as the towers I had been visited. But the vintage atmosphere of the eighties Osaka in this place is worth to experience. There is a complete variety of Pocky and nothing beats eating Pocky snack with hot coffee latte inside the tower facing the night view of the city.

Osaka Day 4

Kyoto said to be a perfect place to walk around wearing rented kimonos. But, I did my research and they are actually quite expensive. So I aborted the idea to save money since I planned to spend it buying things in Universal Studios Japan. Then my boyfriend told me that we could try it for much cheaper price in Osaka Museum of Housing and Living. Although we were only able to wear it less than an hour but it was a nice experience and we were able to catch a great photo that becomes his favorite.

Last but not least, do not forget to taste the different types of food offered in Japan. Japanese cuisine is famously delicious and fresh. I almost craved for yakitori and fresh salmon sashimi everyday when I was there. And the good spot to shop in Osaka, is in Nipponbashi, I call this place the Akihabara of Osaka.

Food

Once again, this country never disappoints me. One thing I really love was the people, they are the example of kindness and generosity. I think it is okay to say that I would like to visit this country again. Who knows.

Ps. KIX has a crowded aircraft traffic, which means lots of both domestic and international passenger. Make sure you arrive there several hours before your departing time, since the queue to enter the departure gate, I tell you, very long winding like a snake, it took me one and a half hour of queue just to enter the gate.

Take only memories, leave only footprints. – Chief Seattle

*All photos photographed using Fujifilm XA2

Leave a comment